Miniature Masterpieces – A String Serenade

Miniature Masterpieces – A String Serenade
December 16, 2019 paperlesslion
dp stuart ross carlson i7

The Michigan Philharmonic Orchestra, under the direction of Maestra Nan Washburn, presents Miniature Masterpieces – A String Serenade on Sunday. Featuring composer and violinist Stuart Ross Carlson, the concert performance will be held Sunday, Jan. 19 at The Inn at St. John’s Chapel, Plymouth, beginning at 2 p.m.

Details from Michigan Phil:

Our music director and conductor, Nan Washburn has curated a unique concert, mixing petit pieces with her usual distinctive flair. A surprising range of beautiful music, from  Bartok’s Romanian Folk Dances to Paquito D’Rivera Wapango will delight as you enjoy the surroundings of the beautiful St. John’s Chapel. Adding to the mix, two lovely pieces by local composer and violinist, Stuart Ross Carlson, will certainly create a sublime musical afternoon.

Click here for tickets.


Gustav Holst – Brook Green Suite, H. 190 (1933)
Béla Bartók – Romanian Folk Dances, Sz. 68, BB 76 (1917)
Paquito D’Rivera – Wapango (1990)
Stuart Ross Carlson – Fiddle Suite in A Major (2014)
Stuart Ross Carlson – Amazing Grace (2019) (World Premiere of new orchestration)
Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky – Serenade for Strings in C Major, Op. 48 (1880)